For those that have been following the “Let Our Congress Tweet Campaign,” the news is in. Congress can now Tweet (as well as YouTube, Flickr and other 3rd-party sites) when communicating with constituents.

This campaign was the 1st official policy issue brought forth through Twitter. Individuals supporting the campaign were asked to tweet:

“Congress, change the rules. Talk to us on our social networks. Let Our Congress Tweet! #LOCT08.”

The campaign with links to media coverage can be found here. In response, the Sunlight Foundation has created @CAPITOLTWEETS has been created for those who want to receive tweets sent out by members of Congress. This allows interested individuals can get a @CAPITOLTWEETS widget to include on their blog or Web site if desired that updates every 10 minutes with tweets from Congress members.

The rulings official wording is and can be found on Speaker Pelosi’s blog:

In addition to their official ( Web site, a Member may maintain another Web site(s), channel(s) or otherwise post material on third-party Web sites. (more…)


Related, in June, I compiled a list of ALL government Twitter accounts available. This post has been very popular, and many more have since been a) suggested and b) created. Thus, here is the update, beginning with none other than….Congress members who Twitter. Colleague @ariherzog also maintains the Government page on the Twitter fan wiki for future updates. Enjoy!

U.S. Senate

  1. Joe Biden (D-Del.)
  2. Sen. John McCain (R-Az.)
  3. Hillary Clinton (D-N.Y.)
  4. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.)
  5. Chris Dodd (D-Conn.)
  6. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
  7. Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.)
  8. Barack Obama (D-Ill.)

U.S. House of Representatives

  1. Neil Abercrombie (D-Hawaii)
  2. Gresham Barrett (R-S.C.)
  3. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.)
  4. John Boehner (R-Ohio)
  5. John Boozman (R-Ark.)
  6. Michael Burgess (R-Texas)
  7. Dan Burton (R-Ind.)
  8. Eric Cantor (R-Va.)
  9. John Culberson (R-Texas)
  10. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.)
  11. Randy Forbes (R-Va.)
  12. Pete Hoekstra (R-Mich.)
  13. Randy Kuhl (R-N.Y.)
  14. Tom Latham (R-Iowa)
  15. Bob Latta (R-Ohio)
  16. Thaddeus McCotter (R-Mich.)
  17. Kendrick Meek (D-Fla.)
  18. Candice Miller (R-Mich.)
  19. George Miller (D-Calif.)
  20. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.)
  21. Tom Price (R-Ga.)
  22. Denny Rehberg (R-Mont.)
  23. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (D-Fla.)
  24. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio)
  25. Christopher Shays (R-Conn.)
  26. John Shimkus (R-Ill.)
  27. Mark Udall (D-Colo.)
  28. Tom Udall (D-N.M.)
  29. Joe Wilson (R-S.C.)
  30. Rob Wittman (R-Va.)
  31. John Yarmuth (D-Ky.)
  32. Ron Paul (R-Texas) (FAKE PROFILE)

Executive Branch (including Cabinet, departments, and agencies)


  • Bob Barr (L), former U.S. Representative from Georgia, presidential candidate in 2008
  • John Edwards (D), former U.S. Senator from North Carolina, presidential candidate in 2004 and 2008
  • @secgen – The U.N. Secretary General
  • @peacecorps – The Peace Corps
  • L.A. California Fire Department
  • Mike Huckabee – Former Arkansas Governor and Presidential Candidate

U.S. State Government Leaders

  1. @schwarzenegger – California Gov. Arnold Schwarsenegger
  2. @GovernorGibbons – Nevada Gov. Jim Gibbons (No longer actice and beware the fake account @FakeGibbons)
  3. @govgranholm – Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm
  4. @johncherry – Michigan Lieutenant Gov. John Cherry
  5. @PeterKinder – Missouri Lieutenant Gov. Peter Kinder
  6. Mark Boughton, Mayor of Danbury, Connecticut
  7. R.T. Rybak, Mayor of Minneapolis, Minnesota

U.S. State Government

  1. @coloradogov – Colorado Government
  2. @kygov – Kentucky Government
  3. @vermontgov – Vermont Government
  4. @UtahGov – Utah Government
  5. @SCGOV – South Carolina Government
  6. @www_maine_gov – Maine Government
  7. @rigov – Rhode Island Government
  8. @wsdot – Washington State Department of Transportation
  9. @NevDCNR – Nevada Dept. of Conservation and Natural Resources

Liked what you read? Feel free to share with others: Bookmark and Share